Kenya’s Gilad Millo Scoops 2 AFRIMA Awards, as Qritical also Performs

An ecstatic Gilad on his way back to Nairobi with his two AFRIMA trophies | PHOTO: FACEBOOK

Kenyan-Israeli singer Gilad scooped 2 Awards Sunday night at the All Africa Music Awards (AFRIMA) which were held in Lagos, Nigeria, leading Kenya‘s charge on a night that saw Nigeria’s Wizkid best him by one, going home with ‘Song of the Year‘, ‘Artiste of the Year’ and ‘Best Male Artiste in West Africa’.

Gilad, who performed his song ‘Angel Uriel‘ at the ceremony, won two awards in the categories ‘Best Male Artiste in Inspirational Music’ and ‘Best Artiste in African Rock’. Also grabbing two golden trophies were Toofan (Togo) for ‘Best Africa Group’ and ‘Best Artiste in African Pop’ and AliKiba (Tanzania) for ‘Best African Collaboration’ and ‘Best Artiste or Group in African RnB & Soul’.

Gilad has been making waves in the Kenyan music scene since his Industry assumption in 2015 in a collaboration with Wendy Kimani on the single ‘Unajua‘. He has since released over 6 chart-topping singles such as ‘Nakuahidi‘ featuring Dela, ‘Salama‘ and ‘Narudi Nyumbani’.

The ceremony, which was hosted by African American Senegalese superstar, Akon and Paris-based Cameroonian, Sophy Aiida, was star studded, with performances from celebrities such as Toofan (Togo), Tiwa Savage (Nigeria), Thandiswa (South Africa), Harrysong (Nigeria), Rue (Zimbabwe), Simi (Nigeria), Henok & Mehari Brothers (Ethiopia) and Montess (Cameroon). Gilad Millo and Qritical also took to the stage, at the Eko Hotel & Suites on Victoria Island in Lagos.

READ ALSO: Akon and Octopizzo arrive in Lagos for AFRIMA 2017

In a barefoot performance of her hit single ‘Yolo Yolo’, Nigeria’s Seyi Shay slipped and fell, though quickly recovered and went on to complete her set. ‘The devil is a liar,’ she later posted to her Instagram account, adding that ‘the show must go on’ as a performer.

Other award-winners included Shayfeen (Morocco), Thandiswa (South Africa), Emtee (South Africa), Tiwa Savage (Nigeria), Asikey (Nigeria), Neza (Rwanda), Toofan (Togo), Nduduzo Mhakatini (South Africa), Nsoki (Angola), Halmelmal Abate (Ethiopia), The Dogg (Namibia), Adaza Cookey (Nigeria), Shyn (Madagascar), DJ Coublon (Nigeria).

Music legends Oliver Mtukudzi (Zimbabwe) and Salif Keita (Mali) received an AFRIMA Legendary Award each.


Kevin Oyugi
He's a writer based in Nairobi and ardent about Architecture, Urban Lifestyle, Cuisine, Luxury, Travel, History, Film, Music and the Future. Interact with him by sharing your views and sentiments on Twitter and by Email.

Kenya’s Gilad Millo Scoops 2 AFRIMA Awards, as Qritical also Performs

log in

reset password

Back to
log in
Choose A Format
GIF format
%d bloggers like this: